Sour Mash Berliner Weisse

My current Berliner Weisse is taking too long with the lactobacillus pitched in, so I play to “rush” one to see how it turns out. I’ve been seeing good reviews online, so hopefully this will work. I have a new stc-1000 and more reptile heat cable coming in the mail to test this recipe.

 

I plan to follow the same recipe from my last Berliner:

  • 3.75lb Pilsner
  • 2.75lb Wheat
  • 1oz Noble hops
  • Boil for 15m

However, this time I plan to go through with a Sour Mash.

  1. Fit a hose on a 3 piece airlock (1/2 ID) with an adapter to go up to a CO2 hose (5/16 ID)
  2. Place lid on bucket and purge it
  3. Mash like normal
  4. Transfer wort into an ale pail
  5. throw in a handful of grain
  6. Purge headspace with CO2
  7. Wrap in reptile coil and set STC to 110-115F
  8. Wait a few days to sour
  9. Boil it for 15 minutes with 1oz Saaz
  10. Chill and pitch yeast

 

 

Leave a comment